How Runtime Shrinks Once Lights and Sonar Are On

Headline ROV runtime is a best case. Lights, sonar, and current shrink it; dim loads and recover by voltage, not the clock.

Yellow remotely operated underwater vehicle on a ship deck, not a BlueROV2

A headline runtime is the best case the maker named — and on the BlueROV2 product page that case is not defined as lights-and-sonar work in a current. The operator keeps a return by dimming lights and lowering gain, which the operating guide allows, and by turning back while voltage is still above the recovery point that guide states. The headline minutes stop being the right tool when the page never states the test you are about to run.

Answer box

  • Right for this job: Treat the BlueROV2 store page’s “~2 hours (normal use) ~4 hours (light use)” line, tied to a Blue Robotics 15.6Ah battery, as a headline best case — then plan loads and a voltage-based return.
  • Wrong for this job: Spending those hours with lights and sonar hard on while fighting current, then expecting the same clock for the trip home.
  • The number that decides it: Recover around 12.5 V; do not discharge a 4S pack below 12.0 V (BlueROV2 operation guide).
  • What the spec leaves out: No lights-on minute count; no sonar-on minute count; “normal” and “light” use are not defined on the product page.
  • Check before you rely on it: Which battery size sits next to the hours; whether your pack matches that line; which loads will be on; whether you will recover by voltage, not by the headline clock.
  • Last checked: September 29, 2026

What the battery is feeding

On the BlueROV2 store page, battery life is stated beside a Blue Robotics 15.6Ah battery: about two hours for “normal use” and about four hours for “light use.” The same page does not define those two phrases. That silence matters more than the rounded hours. A best-case headline without a stated test is not a warranty that your dive will match it.

The vehicle that line is describing still has thrusters to feed. The store page lists Blue Robotics T200 thrusters in a vectored layout — six thrusters in the base configuration, expandable to eight with the Heavy Configuration Retrofit Kit. Hovering in still water asks the motors for small corrections. Pushing against a current asks them to work harder for the same station-keeping or the same transit. Those are not the same draw, even if the pilot never touches a light switch.

Yellow remotely operated underwater vehicle on a ship deck, not a BlueROV2
A U.S. Navy Undersea Rescue Command ROV staged on deck — not a BlueROV2. Different vehicles still share the same lesson: thrusters, lights, and extras all draw from one pack. Public domain, U.S. Navy / MC2 Derek Harkins, via Wikimedia Commons.

Lights are an extra load the pilot can change. The product page says the ROV can be configured with two or four dimmable Lumen Lights, providing up to 6,000 lumens. The technical table lists brightness as 1,500 lumens each with dimming control. Dimmable means the operator can turn brightness down. The page does not say how many minutes full bright costs against the two-hour or four-hour headline. That missing minutes figure is not a hole to invent; it is the reason the headline must stay a best case.

Sonar is another accessory load. Blue Robotics lists sonars among BlueROV2 options for navigation and locating objects. On the Ping360 scanning imaging sonar product page, maximum power consumption is stated as 5 W. That page does not state how many minutes of BlueROV2 battery life the sonar uses, and converting watts into dive minutes would invent a number the maker did not publish for this job. The sonar’s share of the runtime, in minutes, is not stated. If you need the picture, you accept an unstated load — you do not invent a fake budget for it.

Battery choice on the store page’s shopping advice currently points operators toward a 14.8 V, 18Ah lithium-ion pack for the best battery life. The buyer’s guide lists that 14.8 V, 18Ah lithium-ion pack and a 14.8 V, 10Ah lithium-polymer pack as the two Blue Robotics options. Neither the buyer’s guide’s current pack descriptions nor that guide’s surface-power section restates the store page’s “~2 hours / ~4 hours” figures next to the 18Ah or 10Ah lines. Do not move the 15.6Ah hours onto an 18Ah pack. Treat hours that sit beside one battery size as claims about that size, not as free-floating minutes you can paste onto a different amp-hour number.

How this fails differently from a depth rating

Read next alongside this piece: What an ROV depth rating and a runtime claim are measuring. Depth is how deep the housing is rated to survive. Runtime is minutes under some test — or under a vague label when the test is never written down. A current and a light load change the minutes. They do not rewrite the depth rating on the tube.

How to estimate tether length before the vehicle leaves the boat is a separate planning problem. Mention it here only for one drag fact: the BlueROV2 operation guide says not to deploy too much tether, because excess tether in the water adds drag and more chance of snagging. Drag is thrust. Thrust is battery. The buyer’s guide also notes that Slim Tether, at about 4 mm diameter, creates a lot less drag and “makes a big difference when operating in strong currents.” That is a drag fact, not a published minute count for a lights-and-sonar dive.

Unmanned undersea vehicle launching from a boat during a demonstration
A Mk 18 Mod 2 UUV launching during an Office of Naval Research demonstration — not a BlueROV2. Launch-and-recover discipline still matters when the battery, not the clock, sets the turn-home point. Office of Naval Research, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

What the reader can check

Open the pages yourself. These were opened on September 29, 2026:

  • https://bluerobotics.com/store/rov/bluerov2/ — Look for the battery size next to the hours. Confirm whether “normal” and “light” are defined (on this check, they were not). Note thruster count and that Lumen lights are listed as dimmable, including the up-to-6,000-lumens configuration language if it is still there.
  • https://bluerobotics.com/learn/bluerov2-buyers-guide/ — Confirm the 14.8 V 18Ah and 14.8 V 10Ah packs. Confirm whether the 2-hour and 4-hour figures are restated next to those packs (on this check, they were not). Treat Outland OTPS surface power as continuous runtime from shore or generator power — a different setup, not a longer battery minute count. Note Slim Tether’s drag claim in current if the page still says it.
  • https://bluerobotics.com/learn/bluerov2-operation/ — Confirm “Drive smoothly and on low gain when possible to maximize battery life,” neutral buoyancy guidance, recover around 12.5 V / do not go below 12.0 V on a 4S pack, Lights brighter/dimmer controls, and Depth Hold versus Manual. Confirm the excess-tether drag warning.
  • https://bluerobotics.com/store/sonars/imaging-sonars/ping360-sonar-r1-rp/ — Confirm maximum power consumption (5 W on this check) and whether any BlueROV2 minute cost is stated (none was).

A useful dive plan names what is switched on: how many lights, how bright, whether sonar is powered, whether the water is still or pushing, how much tether is out. A headline with no test does not name those things for you.

The decision before the dive

Before the vehicle leaves the boat, decide what you can switch off or turn down and still keep enough power to return. The operating guide gives the tools: Lights1 brighter and Lights1 dimmer on the control list, and Gain inc / Gain dec. Dim the lights when the camera still has enough scene. Fly on low gain when the job allows it. Drive smoothly. Those are the load decisions the maker documents. They are not a published conversion of lumens into minutes.

If sonar power draw in watts is on the accessory page but minutes are not, do not budget a fake minute number. Decide whether you need the acoustic picture enough to accept an unstated load. Then turn for home at the voltage the guide names rather than at the headline clock. Recover around 12.5 V. Do not treat 12.5 V as a secret minute calculator — do not convert it into minutes either. It is a recovery threshold, not a stopwatch.

Surface power is the other setup. The buyer’s guide describes the Outland Technology Power Supply (OTPS) for continuous, unlimited runtime from a 100–240 VAC shore or generator source over its own high-power tether. That is not “a longer battery.” It is a different power architecture. If you are on a pack, plan as a pack. If you are on OTPS, you are not solving the same problem as a 15.6Ah headline.

NOAA Deep Discoverer remotely operated vehicle illuminating a shipwreck underwater
NOAA’s Deep Discoverer ROV surveys the Amakasu Maru No.1 with lights on — a different vehicle, not a BlueROV2. Bright lights help the camera; they are still a load the pilot should plan. NOAA Ocean Explorer, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

One specific sourced fact

On the BlueROV2 product page technical details, battery life with a Blue Robotics 15.6Ah battery is listed as “~2 hours (normal use) ~4 hours (light use),” with batteries described as swappable in about 30 seconds. The buyer’s guide’s current Blue Robotics pack sizes — 14.8 V, 18Ah lithium-ion and 14.8 V, 10Ah lithium-polymer — do not restate those hour figures on the pack lines. Separately, the operation guide’s recovery line remains concrete when the hours are vague: recover around 12.5 V; do not discharge a 4S battery below 12.0 V.

The harmful mistake

The harmful mistake is spending the headline “normal use” minutes with lights and sonar on, in a current, and still expecting the same clock for the trip home. The store page never said that those hours were measured with full Lumen output, with a scanning sonar drawing its maximum watts, and with thrusters fighting a current while excess tether hung in the water. Treating an undefined “normal use” as that full-load profile burns the return path. Dim what you can. Lower gain. Watch voltage. Turn early. The missing lights-on and sonar-on minute counts are the point of the plan, not a blank to fill with invented numbers.

What an ROV depth rating and a runtime claim are measuring

When an underwater job needs sonar, a camera, or both

Editorial Team

Editorial writing for Sea Brilliant

The team writes plain-language explanations of underwater vehicles, marine electronics, and ocean systems. Each guide stays with one tool or one job. A number written for one machine is not reused for another. The team is not a manufacturer, not a survey firm, and not a substitute for the person on the vessel. Emergencies on the water are not handled by email.